COMMUNITY FAIR TRADE

OUR PIONEERING PROGRAMME HAS BEEN GOING STRONG SINCE 1987.

We source ethical, high-quality ingredients and accessories from thousands of producers, farmers and artisans across the world. Discover how this programme drives real change and helps us be a force for good.

WHAT IS COMMUNITY FAIR TRADE?

Community Fair Trade is our bespoke fair trade programme. It helps our suppliers gain market access and invest in social and environmental projects that benefit their communities, and it helps us fill our products with the good stuff.

We launched Community Fair Trade in 1987, but back then it was known as Trade Not Aid. Over 30 years later, this ethos is still going strong. From handcrafted shea butter in Ghana to recycled paper gift bags in India, we source ingredients and accessories from across the planet, which provides vital financial independence for our partners. Many of them are women living in rural areas, with limited economic opportunities. This helps drive our goal of business as a force for good, and we’re incredibly proud of it.

TBS

HOW IS IT DIFFERENT TO FAIR TRADE?

Fair trade helps producers in developing countries secure good standards of trading, including fair prices, when working with companies in developed countries. Community Fair Trade is our own bespoke programme, founded and run solely by The Body Shop. It’s the biggest fair trade programme in the cosmetics industry. Having our own programme makes a difference because it gives us an authentic connection to our producers and suppliers. We know them, personally. We know their families and communities. This makes the programme all the more important to us.

TBS

OUR COMMUNITY FAIR TRADE PROGRAMME

We strive to develop long-term trade partnerships, and have worked with many of our suppliers for decades. We pay fair prices and offer favourable trade terms, targeted producer support and access to an international trade market. Some suppliers also receive an additional fund to invest in community projects such as education, healthcare and sanitation. Hundreds of thousands of people have benefited from these projects, including the families and neighbours of producers.

We’re incredibly proud of what we and our suppliers have achieved, and we aim to continue creating positive social and environmental impact in communities where our trade can be most beneficial in the future.

Community Fair Trade is every bit as relevant and important today as it was in 1987. All over the world, people still don’t have access to decent working conditions and fair trading practices. Community Fair Trade is our heritage and it will always be the heart of The Body Shop.

TBS

WHAT COMMUNITY FAIR TRADE MEANS FOR YOU

Community Fair Trade is more than just how we get our ingredients. It benefits all of us. We get direct access to high-quality ingredients and accessories from around the world, which means your purchase benefits people and communities in so many ways. We want you to know the full story behind the products you love. Read our success stories to find out how the products you buy are having a positive social impact around the world.

TBS

التجارة المجتمعية العادلة

برنامجنا الرائد بقوة منذ عام 1987.

نقوم بحصد المكونات والإكسسوارات عالية الجودة بشكل أخلاقي من آلاف المنتجين، والمزارعين، والحرفيين حول العالم. اكتشفوا كيف يقود هذا البرنامج التغيير الحقيقي ويساعدنا لنكون قوة للخير في العالم.

ما هي التجارة المجتمعية العادلة؟

التجارة المجتمعية العادلة هي برنامجنا المخصص للتجارة العادلة، والذي يساعد مورّدينا على التمكن من الوصول للسوق والاستثمار في المشاريع الاجتماعية والبيئية التي تعود بالنفع على مجتمعاتهم، بالإضافة إلى أنه يساعدنا في الحصول على المكونات المثالية لمنتجاتنا.

قمنا بإطلاق برنامج التجارة المجتمعية العادلة في عام 1987 ولكنه كان يُعرف حينها باسم ’ Trade Not Aid‘ (التجارة بدل العون). وبعد أكثر من 30 عاماً ما زلنا نمضي بقوة. من زبدة الشيا المصنوعة يدوياً بحرفية في غانا إلى أكياس الهدايا المصنوعة من الورق المعاد تدويره في الهند، نحصد المكونات والإكسسوارات من مصادر حول العالم، ما يمنح الاستقلال المالي الضروري لشركائنا. والعديد منهم نساء يعشن في مناطق ريفية بفرص اقتصادية محدودة. لذلك فإن هذا يساعد على جعل هدف أعمالنا مصدراً للخير ونحن فخورون جداً بذلك.

TBS

ما هو الاختلاف بين هذا والتجارة العادلة؟

التجارة العادلة تساعد المنتجين في الدول النامية على تأمين معايير جيدة للتجارة، من ضمنها الأسعار العادلة، وذلك عند العمل مع الشركات في الدول المتقدمة. أما التجارة المجتمعية العادلة فهي برنامجنا الخاص الذي أسسته وتديره ذي بودي شوب حصرياً. إنه أكبر برنامج للتجارة العادلة في صناعة مستحضرات التجميل. أن يكون لنا برنامجنا الخاص يشكل فرقاً لأنه يمنحنا صلة حقيقية مع منتجينا ومورّدينا. إننا نعرفهم بشكل شخصي، كما نعرف عائلاتهم ومجتمعاتهم. كل هذا يجعل البرنامج أكثر أهمية بالنسبة لنا.

TBS

برنامجنا للتجارة المجتمعية العادلة

نسعى لتطوير شراكات تجارية على المدى البعيد، كما عملنا مع العديد من مورّدينا لعقود عدة. نحن ندفع أسعاراً عادلة ونقدم شروط تجارة مناسبة، بالإضافة إلى توفير الدعم للمنتجين، وإمكانية الدخول لسوق التجارة العالمية. كما يحصل بعض المورّدين على تمويل إضافي للاستثمار في مشاريع مجتمعية مثل التعليم، والرعاية الصحية، والإصحاح (نظام الصرف الصحي وتطهير المياه). مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص استفادوا من هذه المشاريع، بمن فيها عائلات وجيران المنتجين.

نحن فخورون للغاية بما حققناه نحن ومورّدينا، ونهدف للاستمرار بخلق التأثير الإيجابي الاجتماعي والبيئي في المجتمعات التي سوف تفيدها تجارتنا بشكل كبير في المستقبل.

التجارة المجتمعية العادلة شديدة الصلة والأهمية اليوم بقدر ما كانت عليه في عام 1987. هناك أشخاص في جميع أنحاء العالم ما زالوا يعانون من عدم توفر ظروف عمل مناسبة وممارسات تجارية عادلة. إن التجارة المجتمعية العادلة هي إرثنا وستكون دوماً في صميم عمل ذي بودي شوب.

TBS

ما تعنيه التجارة المجتمعية العادلة لك

التجارة المجتمعية العادلة هي أكثر من مجرد كيفية حصولنا على مكوناتنا. إنها تعود بالنفع علينا جميعاً. نحن نحصل على المكونات والإكسسوارات عالية الجودة بشكل مباشر من جميع أنحاء العالم، ما يعني أن شراؤك للمنتجات يعود بالنفع على الأشخاص والمجتمعات بطرق كثيرة. نود أن تعرف القصة الكاملة للمنتجات التي تحبها. اقرأ قصص نجاحنا لمعرفة كيف يؤثر شراؤك للمنتجات بشكل إيجابي على المجتمعات حول العالم.

TBS